AVIXA Announces Award Winners; To Be Recognized at InfoComm 2020 Connected

AVIXA Awards

AVIXA has announced the 2020 recipients of its annual awards. Honorees will be recognized via virtual ceremony during InfoComm 2020 Connected on Wednesday, June 17, at 5 p.m. EDT.

According to AVIXA, its awards recognize “outstanding AV professionals for their contributions to the industry.” Members of the industry nominate individuals for multiple categories. These are this year’s winners:

  • Adele De Berri Pioneers of AVBruce Howze, fellow engineer, Biamp, and president and founder, Community Professional Loudspeakers
  • CTS Holder of the YearMark Higgason, executive vice president and partner, Encompass Audio Visual LLC
  • Educator of the YearJonathan Brawn, principal, Brawn Consulting
  • Fred Dixon Service in EducationSteve Thorburn, principal, Thorburn Associates
  • Mackey Barron Distinguished AchievementBen Adams, international representative, IATSE
  • Women in AV
  • Young AV Professionals

There are also two categories new to 2020:

  • Emerging TalentEdinys Guzman, student, Lincoln Tech
  • Event Design of the YearMeredith Francsis, senior creative producer, BlackOak Technical Productions

There is also one award bestowed by AVIXA staff:

  • Volunteer of the YearLisa Perrine, CEO, Cibola Systems

“Day in and day out, AV professionals leave impressions on the people they meet and the spaces they help create,” said David Labuskes, CEO of AVIXA. “Each year, AVIXA is honored to shine a spotlight on individuals who are helping the industry grow, whether it’s through teaching, breaking down barriers or pioneering new technology and ideas. Congratulations to the 2020 AVIXA Award winners, and thank you for all your contributions to the AV industry.”